The 116th Annual Boys and 49th Annual Girls Ohio High School Athletic Association Track & Field State Tournament were held at Dayton Welcome Stadium. The track at Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium at The Ohio State University is being replaced with a new track. 

Welcome Stadium hosted the OHSAA Track & Field State Tournament from 1999-2003 after the track was removed from Ohio Stadium.  The track & field state tournament will return to Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium in 2025 and 2026 to complete the current three-year contract.

Division III

The girls’ 4 x 800 meter relay started the exciting competition as Smithville (9:20.23) nipped Rittman (9:20.53) and Minster (9:20.93).  Smithville’s sophomore Kaitlyn Carr (4:50.56) won the 1600 meters.  Carr’s teammate freshman Maryn Erdman (2:13.17) won the 800 meters.  Maplewood’s senior Caleigh Richards the 2023 state cross country champion won the 3200 meters in 10:47.52.

Smithville won the girls team trophy with 50 points while Coldwater captured runner up honors with 33 points.

Fisher Catholic started the boys scoring winning the 4 x 800 meter relay with their 8:00.5 clocking. Last year’s 1600 meter runner up Ottawa Hills’ senior Riley Nixon won the 1600 meters in 4:12.70.  Fisher Catholic’s senior Jack Gentie (1:54.80) edged Minster senior Ryan Halpin (1:54.94) for the 800 meter title.  Whiteoak’s junior Landen Eyre (9:10.07) topped the 3200 meter field.

Marion Local defended their boy’s team title winning with 51 points while Lowellville captured the runner up trophy with 35 points.

Complete Results 


Division II

The girls 4 x 800 meters started the scoring for the Division II with Woodridge winning in 9:15.05.   2023 state cross country champion Junior Reese Reaman continued the distance dominance for Woodridge winning the 1600 meters in 4:56.78 and the 800 meters in 2:10.44.  Athens’ sophomore Sophia Szolosi runner up to Reaman at the 2023 state cross country championship captured the 3200 meter crown in 10:59.61.

Woodridge defended their 2023 team title winning with 40 points.  Gilmour Academy finished a close second with 38 points.

Dayton Carroll won the boys’ 4 x 800 meter relay with a time of 7:49.65. Marlington’s senior Colin Cernansky defended his 1600 meter title with his 4:07.53 clocking. Dayton Carroll’s junior Andrew Janson won the 800 meters in 1:52.61.  Marlington’s Colin Cernansky returned to the top of the podium with his 3200 meter win in 9:13.17.

Huron captured the gold trophy with 40 points and Glenville took home the silver trophy with 36 points.

Complete Results 


Division I

Hilliard Davidson started the Division I scoring winning the girls 4 x 800 meter relay in 9:03.67.  Olentangy Orange’s sophomore Brooke Chapman (4:55.08) edged Westlake’s senior Sarah Peer (4:55.41) for the 1600 meter title. Stow Munroe Falls’ senior Jayla Atkinson defended her 2023 800 meter title winning this year in 2:09.51.  Dublin Coffman’s sophomore Kylie Feeney finished a close second in the 800 meters in 2:09.83.  Olentangy Liberty’s sophomore Elena Aldrink (10:35.34) took home the gold in the 3200 meters.

Wayne took the girls team title trophy with 46 points while Mason finished second with 42 points.

Westerville North (7:39.91) held off Massillon Jackson (7:40.02) to win the boys 4 x 800 meter relay. 2023 cross country state champion Westerville North’s senior Ben Gabelman added the 1600 meter crown to his trophy case.  Lebanon’s senior Calvin Kilgallon (1:51.23) captured the 800 meter title.  Dublin Jerome’s senior Samuel Ricchiuti last year’s runner up in the 3200 meters won in 9:03.71.

Elyria won the boys division I team crown with 30 points one point ahead of runner up Wayne.

Complete Results 


Photos to be posted on - https://www.runohio.com/index.php/photos/2024